DE/EN

Repertorium Academicum Germanicum

.

The graduated scholars of the Old Empire between 1250 and 1550.

The Repertorium Academicum Germanicum (RAG) is a long-term project of Digital History that records and evaluates the biographical, social and cultural data of the university scholars of the Old Empire up to 1550 in a database. The RAG database thus presents the elite of the medieval student body: the magisters of the faculty of arts, the visitors of the three higher faculties of jurisprudence, theology and medicine as well as the university visitors from the nobility, even if they did not receive their doctorate. Not to be found in the database, therefore, are all unpromoted visitors to the faculties of art (scholares simplices) and their baccalauri (baccalaurii artium).

The RAG aims to develop the history of the cultural reaches of an intellectual leadership and impulse group of the pre-modern era and to gain a comprehensive insight into the medieval origins of the modern knowledge society with around 60,000 individuals and their 380,000 life and career stages.

The development of the RAG has been funded since 2001 by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation (Cologne). From 2007-2019, the RAG was funded as a project of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities (Historical Commission at the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities) under the Academies Programme by the Federal Republic of Germany, the Free State of Bavaria and the State of Hessen, and from 2008 to 2019 as an organ (Board of Trustees) of the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences. In 2020, the RAG was incorporated into the Repertorium Academicum (REPAC) and will be continued therein. Further information on the project: http://rag-online.org


Areas of origin and communication of scholars in the RAG 1250-1550 according to universities (Source: RAG)

DE/EN

Repertorium Academicum Germanicum

Die graduierten Gelehrten des Alten Reiches zwischen 1250 und 1550.

Das Repertorium Academicum Germanicum (RAG) ist ein Langzeitprojekt der Digital History, das die biografischen, sozialen und kulturellen Daten der universitären Gelehrten des Alten Reiches bis 1550 in einer Datenbank erfasst und auswertet. Die Datenbank des RAG präsentiert damit die Elite der mittelalterlichen Studentenschaft: die Magister der Artistenfakultät, die Besucher der drei höheren Fakultäten der Jurisprudenz, der Theologie und der Medizin sowie die Universitätsbesucher aus dem Adel, auch wenn sie nicht promoviert worden sind. Nicht zu finden in der Datenbank sind daher alle unpromovierten Besucher der Artistenfakultäten (scholares simplices) und deren Bakkalare (baccalaurii artium).

Das RAG hat das Ziel, die Geschichte der kulturellen Reichweiten einer geistigen Führungs-und Impulsgruppe der Vormoderne zu entwickeln und mit rund 60‘000 Personen und ihren 380'000 Lebens- und Karrierestationen einen umfassenden Einblick in die mittelalterlichen Ursprünge der modernen Wissensgesellschaft zu gewinnen.

Der Aufbau des RAG wurde seit 2001 durch den Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF), die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und die Fritz-Thyssen-Stiftung (Köln) gefördert. Von 2007-2019 wurde das RAG als Vorhaben der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (Historische Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften) im Rahmen des Akademienprogramms von der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, dem Freistaat Bayern und dem Land Hessen, sowie von 2008 bis 2019 als ein Organ (Kuratorium) der Schweizerischen Akademie der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften gefördert. 2020 wurde das RAG in das Repertorium Academicum (REPAC) eingegliedert und wird darin fortgeführt. Weitere Informationen zum Projekt: http://rag-online.org


Herkunfts- und Kommunikationsräume der Gelehrten im RAG 1250-1550 nach Universitäten (Quelle: RAG)